Level 5 Diploma in Information Technology

Level 5 Diploma in Information Technology (RQF)


9 Months

Start Date

Every Month


The Level 5 Diploma in Information Technology (RQF) is awarded by IBT Qualifications. Today Information Technology (IT) is changing at an extremely rapid rate, and there is a need to develop the IT experts of tomorrow, who will be able to fill the interesting, demanding and highly-paid specialist posts that will be available within a broad spectrum of organisations. The IBT Qualification Level-5 Diploma in Information Technology (RQF) provides learners a balance of academic and vocational subjects in order to provide you with the necessary knowledge and skills to play a significant role in IT organisations. The programme gives better detail and more advanced topics in IT including database development, information systems analysis, and network security. With this qualification learner will gain the adequate knowledge, understanding and skills for students wanting to enter a career as an IT practitioner or technician in the area of business systems, user support, networking and software development and may provide progression to higher education vocational qualifications.

Entry Requirements

  • Learners aged 16 years and over and
  • A level 3 qualification in IT or a related vocational area or
  • A standard of literacy and numeracy supported by a general education equivalent to four GCSEs at grade A*-C
  • Related work experience
  • International students whose first language is not in English, they will need to have a score of 5.5 or above in IELTS Examination or equivalent. Students can alternatively take an English test conducted by IBT Qualifications’ approved centres.

Qualification structures

To achieve this qualification, learners must complete a minimum of 120 credits.

Candidates must accomplish the following units.

  • Principles of Information Technologies
  • Network Security
  • Websites Development and Management
  • Analysis, Design and Implementation
  • Database Design and Development
  • E-commerce
  • IT Project

Assessments and Award

The delivering Centre will internally assess all units. All of the units are assessed by coursework and this may include the production of portfolios, presentations, practical projects, and staff observations. None of the units requires you to sit a formal examination.

Students will need to show that they meet each of the assessment criteria detailed within each unit, to the required standard for the level of the unit.

Diploma Certificates will be awarded following assessment of the candidate’s course works. A qualified tutor will examine the evidence and make a decision, which is verified by the external verifier and passed for certification. To be awarded the certificates, candidates must pass all the seven units. Candidates need to achieve 40% mark in order to pass each unit. The achievement (pass) rates for this qualification are outstanding.


The Diploma in Information Technology(RQF) (Level-5) is good provision for anyone wishing to continue into employment, or to higher education in the field of IT. It is obvious that many companies sometimes contact the College to help them recruit staff, and on occasion, the work experience placement results in the offer of full-time employment at the end of the course. It has been observed by many learners that IBT Qualifications Diploma in IT very effective course. Many students who were not considering university at the beginning of the course have decided to pursue the subject at a higher level.

Learners Outcome

Information Technology is a very stimulating and fast-moving substance, offering a variety of career opportunities. Learners will gain many new skills, as well as enhancing current skills. Moreover, learners will be given the opportunity to acquire specific skills in line with your chosen career path as an IT Practitioner or Technician. Learners possess the wide variety of units offered on this course.

Delivery Method

The programme is delivered via Blended, and Online by School of Business London. The blended and online mode facilitates learners to finish the courses at their own pace.

Level Of Attainment

Learners who meet the requirements for the qualification will be awarded a pass. The qualification itself is not graded. For each unit learners will be marked out of 100 and will be graded as follows.

A+ 75%+ Higher Distinction
A 65% – 74% Distinction
B 50% – 64% Merit
C 40% – 49% Pass
D 30% – 39% Marginal Fail
E 15% – 29% Fail